“Those who believe in the Lotus Sutra are as if in winter but winter always turns into spring”

Hello everyone,

I am Mamta Mehta and ever since I joined this faith, I have based my life on the above quoted text from the chapter, Winter Always Turns to Spring, a Nichiren Daishonin’s Gosho.

I am an Indian and was introduced to this faith by one of my colleagues in India. Due to my husband’s job, we kept traveling from one country to another after every few years. Presently, I am in Germany with my family. This movement from one country to another is really challenging for all of us.

By profession, I am a teacher and try to continue my passion where ever I go. Although it is not easy my strong determination and strong faith helps me in my struggles. In difficult times, the following quote gives me strength…

“On Offering Prayers to the Mandala of the Mystic Law – A woman who takes this efficacious medicine will be surrounded and protected by these four great bodhisattvas at all times.”

From last year, I have been chanting to find a job in Germany. I have been chanting to the Gohonzon to show me the right path and direction.

I came here with strong determination that I would be able to share my victory with the Gohonzon and all of you.

This struggle was not easy as approaching the school was difficult. I sent my application to the school through mail and kept waiting for many days but there was no answer.

I was sad and was not sure what to do. I kept chanting, did morning and evening Gongyo and tried to attend as many meetings as I could.

I prayed and prayed to the Gohonzon to show me the path until one day my friend, who is also a teacher, asked me where I had applied for job.  She helped me to correct my application and told me to send it directly to the principal by post.

I was amazed to see how busy she was; she still gave me priority and helped me. In my heart I knew that the Gohonzon is showing me the way. Within a few weeks, I got the response and my interview was fixed. Due to my qualifications and my experience in this line, the interview was successful.

I was happy and thought that the struggle is over but I didn’t know yet what lie ahead. I was asked to furnish lot of documents by the school before they gave me the contract. They asked me to get work permit from the authorities. Being a foreigner, I knew that it was not going to be easy.

Now on one hand I had the job waiting for me and on the other hand I needed someone to help me and show me how to apply. I couldn’t sleep the whole night and kept chanting in my heart.

Next morning, while doing Gongyo, I read one of the writings of Nichiren Daishonin –

The Lion King is said to advance three steps, then gather himself to spring, unleashing the same power whether he traps a tiny ant or attacks a fierce animal. In inscribing this Gohonzon for protection, Nichiren was like a lion king. This is what the sutra means by “the power of the Buddha that has the lion’s ferocity”. Believe in this mandala with all your heart. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo is like the roar of a lion.

These words gave me lot of strength and I thought that there has to be a way out. My husband contacted one of his friends and talked to him about my work permit, and to our astonishment, his friend had gone through the same situation recently. As such, he was able to guide my husband what to do and how to do.

Excitedly, he called me and what could I say but to sit and chant in front of the Gohonzon. We applied and waited but there was no reply. Time passed now it was two months since I had applied and I was becoming nervous and anxious but every time I chanted as if voice from inside came and said that the doors are opening and I will be a winner.

I never doubted the power of the Gohonzon. In order to calm myself, I started reading one page of Gosho daily.

I am proud to share with everyone that finally I received my work permit and now I have a part-time job. I know that this is just the beginning and soon I will be able to work as a full-time teacher.

Today, I refresh my determination of never doubting this faith and pray to the Gohonzon to journey on the path of kosen-rufu. I will also keep on doing my human revolution and will work for the happiness of people around me.

Leave a Reply

