Bravely overcoming one small fear gives you the courage to take on the next

I am Harshika and have been practicing this life changing Buddhism since the past 8 years. Today, I wish to share a recent experience of mine, which has reiterated the power of the Gohonzon and daimoku.

Over the years, I have worked with a play school, an online company and assisted my father in his business. I have never had to apply for jobs or go through any interview process. The earlier jobs just came to me on a platter.

I had left my previous job in Oct 2012. I wanted to work but applying in any firm just became a task for me. I had fears that I had to deal with; I was scared of applying and going through the whole interview process. I was lost as to which field I wanted to apply in. I decided it was time to show actual proof in my life.

Since 3 May was about human revolution, I challenged this area of my life and prayed to be a financially independent woman. Also during this period, I made kosen-rufu my full time job for deep within, I knew it was the right time to change something within and around me. I tackled my fears by praying a lot for courage because I realized I had low self-esteem and prayed a lot for inner strength.

It was at this time that I plunged myself in Gakkai activities and chanted abundant daimoku.

There were days when I would chant up to 3 hours 20 minutes, which was also a big struggle. Also, I realized my faith was always there but my study was lacking. I exerted myself in studying by reading Goshos and applying Sensei’s guidance to my life.

I would like to quote an Ikeda Sensei’s guidance that gave me a lot of courage – “The important thing is to take that first step. Bravely overcoming one small fear gives you the courage to take on the next. If you find you are stuck pray to release the chains of doubt and fear clouding your mind of faith. Pray for unbounded confidence and courage to win over your past and joyfully step into your bright future.”

I decided to change my attitude towards my prayers. I chanted my heart out to the Gohonzon for answers, clarity, the right direction, limitless self-esteem to polish my life, till the time I didn’t feel positive or hopeful that I can achieve all my dreams.

I decided that I needed to concentrate my daimoku towards my targets, and needed to entirely change my style of gongyo and chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. I wrote down all my goals very clearly, defining and visualizing everything to the last detail. I then chanted very specifically for these goals.

I also divided my chanting into 10 minutes of apology for all the negative causes that I may have created, 10 minutes of appreciation for all the Buddhist Gods’ protection through my life, and the rest was focused daimoku on achieving the targets of Gakkai members and mine.

Also this was the time when I corrected my Gongyo too, stressing on the correct posture during chanting, using the Liturgy during all prayers, correcting my pronunciation wherever possible, and doing focused daimoku all the time.

Sensei said, “When you reach a deadlock, that’s the time to chant daimoku. When you chant, you can see yourself, and your environment exactly as they are. You’ll also bring forth strong life force and gain the strength you need not to be defeated by your weaknesses. And more importantly, you’ll awaken to your mission.”

All this gave me great confidence to go and apply in the fields I loved the most, which are in magazines and travel companies. I started applying and I was confident that I would get the job. No doubts came to me. I would visualize that the job is mine. After 2 days I got a call from a reputed magazine for an interview. At this time, I was doing abundant daimoku. I could feel a change in my life condition as not once did fear come to me. I was confident that I would do well and get the job.

As Sensei said that no effort in Gakkai goes wasted, my prayers were answered.

The next day they called me and confirmed me. I am happy to report that this has been a great opportunity for me open and expand my life and let go of my fears. It’s such a chilled-out office with great working hours and it is close to my home – just what I had prayed for.

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the Gohonzon for continuously guiding me to take up goals and challenges, and achieving one victory after another in life.

I also aim to help members fight for their own goals and challenges, and will try to make my district and area a joyful and happy place. A big thank you to all the members for always encouraging me and making me do my best.

Leave a Reply

