“No prayer of the votary of the Lotus Sutra goes unanswered”

Strong faith in the Gohonzon, together with sincere practice and study of the Gosho, will ensure that we will triumph over all challenges and win in the end. This is how Jyotsana, a WD from India, does to overcome her karma.

Good morning Friends. My name is Jyotsana and I stand here today as a proud disciple of Ikeda Sensei sharing actual proof with you all that “No prayer of the votary of the Lotus Sutra goes unanswered.”

I have been practicing Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism since the last 3 years and joined the practice during the most distressed period of my life.

My husband and I had been married since last 5 years and were eagerly waiting for a baby. My job at that time was quite demanding and stressful which was taking a toll on my health leading to low life state.

It was at this time that I joined the practice in Feb 2010 and hence began the mystic journey towards my ultimate goal of having a kosen-rufu baby.

With the turn of events, both I and my husband, Abhishek got kosen-rufu jobs, so that we can balance work and personal lives. Our financial condition improved and we started taking time out for each other which was quite rare in our previous jobs.

I could take out time for my meetings and started very frequent home visits to struggling members. I increased my study and would read the Goshos daily and other Sensei books.

My prayers were always focused to have a kosen-rufu baby and good health of our grandmothers (mine and Abhishek‘s naniji) to bless our little one as this baby would start a new generation in our families.

After over a year of consistent prayer, we got to know the happy news of my pregnancy in June 2011. I was overjoyed and poured my heart out with gratitude to the Gohonzon.

My faith in the practice deepened and I increased my study and participation in activities. In 7 weeks of my pregnancy, I had to undertake a domestic flight and even though everyone discouraged me to go, I insisted with the belief that Gohonzon will protect my baby.

“On Offering Prayers to the Mandala of the Mystic Law – A woman who takes this efficacious medicine will be surrounded and protected by these four great bodhisattvas at all times.”

I was certain that I will be protected by the power of the mystic law. A couple of days after undertaking this journey; I had a severe pain in my abdomen which was nothing but a missed abortion. The foetus was no longer alive and it had to be immediately aborted.

As Sensei says – “Always be wise and chant to get more clarity when in doubt.”

I was shocked and taken aback with this incident. How could this happen to me!! Where did I miss the practice and why me!! The complete turn of events seemed to be as a mockery of the law and I couldn’t attend meetings for a long time.

With the support and encouragement of my members and leaders, I started attending some meetings and increased my participation. I took up this incident as a negative karma, which I had to break with much more stringent practice.

I took guidance and with a focused prayer started afresh chanting for a kosen-rufu baby.

In Dec 2011, I went to Amritsar – the spiritual land in north India to pray for a baby.

The next day, I received a call from a distant member that her sister who was in her 7th month of pregnancy wasn’t well and wanted me to chant with her for her smooth delivery.

I could feel the spiritual forces all working together to help me overcome my negative karma. I would regularly chant with her sister who couldn’t even walk at that stage for her easy delivery.

It was a real struggle for me to visit her in peak winters in the evenings after coming back from work. But, I knew this is how I will overcome my karma and become victorious. In early Feb 2012, she gave birth to a healthy baby boy.

During the same time, after returning from a domestic tour, I had pain in my right leg, which was a severe slip disc. I was advised rest in bed for at least 3 weeks and not to travel for the next 3 months.

Though I felt bad about this, I continued my prayers and would support meetings and members through daimuku and alliance. A week later, Abhishek‘s naniji got critically ill and had to be rushed to the hospital.

She had to undergo angioplasty at an age of 84. Both these incidents were going against my prayers.

“Reply to Kyo – Kyo’s misfortune will change into fortune. Muster your faith and pray to the Gohonzon. Then, what is there that cannot be achieved.”

I would lie down and chant for hours as sitting upright for long time was not possible for me in that condition.

As said, “the night is darkest before dawn” – Naniji‘s operation went smooth and she was under recovery though a bit slow.

However, I had conceived with a healthy foetus. I couldn’t be more thankful to Gohonzon and would pray for my smooth delivery post slip disc and recovery of naniji. Mystically, my role in the office too changed and I was now responsible for a Delhi based customer which meant no frequent domestic travels.

I would like to quote from the Gosho – The Real Aspect of the Gohonzon – “A woman who makes offerings to such a Gohonzon invites happiness in this life; and in the next, The Gohonzon will be with her and protect her always. Like a lantern in the dark, like a strong guide and porter on a treacherous mountain path, the Gohonzon will guard and protect you, Nichinyo where you go.”

With my slip disc and advisory 3 months rest, I could ensure that I worked from home most of the time avoiding unnecessary travel on the roads. Friends, I had a very safe and comfortable time all throughout my 9 months of pregnancy.

On completion of 9 months, monitoring the baby position the doctor advised me to get admitted and ruled out a normal delivery. She said, “Yours is a precious pregnancy and I would not take any risk in your case”.

Since, no pains had started everyone was against this decision of doctor and wanted me to wait for some more time. That night, myself and my husband chanted for clarity and good health of our baby. We decided to go with the doctor and I delivered a baby boy through C-section operation on 18 Oct 2012.

We realized how correct we were to support doctor’s decision. Our baby had a right club foot which led made natural birth difficult. It was really a decision powered by the Mystic Law.

I am immensely thankful to all the members and leaders who have been supporting me throughout this period. We have named our baby Nittant, which means precious as he indeed is precious to all of us.

I am also glad to report that Abhishek‘s naniji is quite better now and she along, with Nittant, had celebrated her 85th birthday.

“Never seek this Gohonzon outside yourself. The Gohonzon exists only within the mortal flesh of us ordinary people who embrace the Lotus Sutra and chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.”

My real struggle has started now with getting Nittant treated for his club foot, Abhishek‘s job is in distress and we don’t have any maid.

However, I am determined to overcome these problems too and emerge out as a much stronger person through the power of this law.

Thank You.

9 thoughts on ““No prayer of the votary of the Lotus Sutra goes unanswered”

  1. Hi I. Am Mmonika kapoor from delhi only ….Don’t worry Jyotsna everything is gonna be f9 I am gonna chant 4 u n ur son wellbeing Nam myo ho renge kyo

  2. I m inspired alot with your experience and with this I also determined to Chant more for evry problem around me .. good
    Sensei’ says never be defeated by problems its just u . Who can defeat the problem.

  3. HI Jyotsana,

    Hi I am Betty from Christmas Island Australia. Really enjoy your experience, will share with the members. For your son’s Clubfoot, I have a nephew 22 months who born with left club foot as well, everything has been fixed with using Ponseti method, pls dont use surgery method. My little nephew has cured his foot, able to walk, squat down, run with no problem. Thanks!

    1. Very inspiring … keep it up … I am also deeply determined with this experience… whenever I become low in practice it just rejuvenate me to practice with absolute faith that I will achieve whatever I wish

Leave a Reply

