Daimoku – the way to overcome life’s challenges

In Nichiren Daishonin’s Gosho – The One Essential Phrase (The Writings of Nichiren Daishonin Vol 1, p922), there is not a slightest doubt that the practice of chanting daimoku, though simple, is the correct practice that never fails to lead the people in the Latter Day to absolute happiness. It was due to the daimoku from Mrs. Barik, a WD from India, that her father overcame a life-threatening illness. 

I am Mrs. Suprava Barik and have been practicing this life changing Buddhism since the last 5 years.

I have been going through a lot of problems relating to my marriage and my father’s health.  With strong faith, studious practice and doing Gakkai activities, my marriage became smooth.

In the meantime, my father was detected with cancer and the decision to whether or not to have him go for his treatment was delayed due to repeated and confusing reports of positive and negative results of his biopsy.

Once again, I clinched upon my unshakable faith in the Gohonzon and set 15 January 2012 as the deadline for the final outcome on his treatment, and began chanting sincerely.

I am happy to report now that the doctors finally decided on his treatment and he underwent the operation where the malignant portion of the food pipe was successfully removed on 14 January 2012.

I continued to chant fervently for his speedy recovery and that his body should tolerate the rigorous post operative treatments, which are radiation and chemotherapy.

He was showing amazing strength and tolerance and responded well to the treatments.

When he was supposed to go to Mumbai for the next review check up, he started facing problems from his workplace. Some of his colleagues and seniors had decided to harass him despite his ill health by asking him to complete one-month of outstanding work within a week’s time.

In the process of completing it, my father had to work overtime in the office that caused him to suffer from piles.

Instead of applying my own strategies to overcome the problems, I turned on to the faith Nichiren Buddhism and the Gohonzon.

I began chanting 3 hours daily for his successful completion of the pending work without any problem and for the safety of his health.

The Gohonzon, once again, answered my prayers and my father not only completed his work on time, but also recovered well from the piles. As such, he could board the train to Mumbai with a relaxed mind.

The next apprehension was the report that the doctors would give at Mumbai. I continued my chanting and also did home visits despite my physical constraint due to pregnancy.

True to the saying that no prayers of a practitioner of Lotus Sutra goes unanswered, all the tests of my father were positive and the doctors reported that he is recovering fast and without any further complications.

I would like to thank the Gohonzon and Ikeda Sensei for the successful treatment of my father.

5 thoughts on “Daimoku – the way to overcome life’s challenges

  1. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo is like the roar of a Lion. So it is no wonder that those sansho shima, which manifested themselves in the form of unreasonable colleagues, cower & end up being defeated because your father completed his work ON TIME.

  2. very inspiring. i am deeply encouraged as i muster faith and courage to emerge victorios over another health battle in my family. your positive experience is just what i needed. thank-you.

Leave a Reply

