The power of chanting

Chanting daimoku is a core practice of Nichiren Buddhism. President Ikeda said, “One who continues to chant abundant daimoku to the Gohonzon will accumulate eternal good fortune and establish an everlasting condition of joy within his life. In other words, through Buddhist practice, you can create the fundamental cause which leads to indestructible happiness. Therefore, you must absolutely never abandon your faith.” Mamta Mehta’s (WD) testimonial is a good example and proof of Ikeda sensei’s guidance on how it is essential to chant a lot of daimoku. After being introduced to Nichiren Buddhism, she continues to chant despite encountering difficulties at times.  In the end, she was rewarded for her perseverance.

I was introduced to Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism in February 2009. On my first Gakkai meeting, I was so much fascinated by the words “Nam-myoho-renge-kyo” that I decided in the meeting itself that no matter what, I would keep chanting these words.

At that time, I did not understand the power of chanting but I only knew that it relaxes me and helps me to forget the sorrows of my life.

It was not easy to sit and chant in the beginning. I could not even concentrate for 3 minutes but slowly and steadily; I pushed myself and was able to chant for a longer time. When I chant, clarity started coming and I started to understand my weaknesses and strengths.

I began to attend meetings regularly and struggled to chant with members. In March the same year, I lost my job, which was a great blow to me but this did not stop me from chanting. In fact, after losing my job, I felt that I had more time to chant and read books, like Value Creation and the Gosho.

I made up my mind to struggle more and to learn from my past. I chanted for protection. After struggling for one year now, I do believe in Gosho:

“Though one might point at the earth and miss it, though one might bind up the sky, though the tides might cease to ebb and flow and the sun rise in the west, it could never come about that the prayers of the practitioner of the Lotus Sutra would go unanswered.”

This year, 2011, brought happiness in my life as I got a part-time job in an international school.

Now, I feel satisfied that I am able to give enough time to my children and also work. My son got admission in the school of his choice and our accommodation problem is also solved.

Before I was the only one in my family who believed in the Mystic Law but now my daughter and my son also chant with me for few minutes.

I thank the Gohonzon for this and pay my gratitude to all the leaders and members who guided me and helped me to strengthen my faith.

I am determined from today that I will keep chanting till the end of my life and would work for kosen-rufu. In the end, I would like to quote from the Daishonin’s writings:

“When, in the family, honor is paid diligently to the teachings, the seven disasters will most certainly be banished.”

One thought on “The power of chanting

Leave a Reply

