A remarkable change in life from chanting

The contributor of this testimonial, who has requested to keep her identity confidential, is currently not a member of SGI but has started chanting daimoku for around one and a half month. During this period, she experienced a significant improvement in her life and is continuing to chant daily. Read on to find out more about what she gone through.

Since childhood, I have always faced one problem or another…

I had a very unhappy family where my father used to beat my mother and I a lot. As a result, I always remain under panic and in fear.

I used to cry through whole nights and many times attempted suicide without success. It is said that if you are unhappy from within, you can’t foster good relationships in future too.

That is precisely what happened with me. In my late teens and 20s, I faced one break-up after another. None of my relations worked, as I was unhappy and hollow from within.

At home, the atmosphere was still the same and I used to be filled with indescribable hatred towards my father, whenever I chance to see him using “ill” words with my mother.

Years passed like this with me growing more helpless, frustrated, and angry from inside.

Then, last year, I finally made up my mind to end this forever. I decided to kill either my father or myself. I pondered about this day and night, feeling restless and not able to decide what I was doing is right or wrong.

Then, one day while sitting in a library, I came across an article by an YWD member who was telling her experience about achieving mental clarity and victory in adverse situations.

Rather, reluctantly, I noted down ‘Nam-myoho-renge-kyo’ in my diary and went home.

At home, I forgot all about it and sat ruminating again over my problems.

Then, one day I saw a girl reading a book in the Metro. I was standing behind her and could see what she was reading. There, I read the words, Nam-myoho-renge-kyo the second time.

At that time, I had my earphones on and was listening to my favorite song. Somehow, these words stuck themselves to my mind, and almost unknowingly, I began to mentally chant them on the rhythm of the song even after reaching at work.

During then, I was not aware that I was chanting the daimoku of the Lotus Sutra or the Mystic Law.

It was just some unfamiliar sounding words that have mystically attached themselves to the tune of the song.

That night, on reaching home, I narrowly escaped having a bad verbal spat with my father. Instead, after the initial heat of the moment, I began to feel pity on him, that he doesn’t know what he is doing and he would be punished for all his misdeeds in the next life.

This thought made me realize that even what I was thinking was absolutely horrendous and how can I hope to make my mother and I happy after committing such a deed.

This realization came as a stroke of lightning to me and I began to literally tremble on thinking about the consequences of my thoughts and actions should I have acted on those them.

The next day, I searched on the Internet for the words, Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, and read the entire philosophy behind this practice.

From that day, I began to chant these words daily for 20-30 minutes while commuting and believe me; I began to see a remarkable change in my attitude and nature.

Earlier, I used to flare up at every single sentence said by my father. Now, we have even begun to talk each other over small family matters even if for just for 10 minutes.

It has been just one and a half months since I started chanting but it has already erased the hatred and anger welled up inside me for the last 32 years, of course bit by bit.

I am truly thankful to this Law that it has saved me from falling into the clutches of devil and restored my mental peace and calm and that just too in less than two months.

Of course, I still have my bouts of anger and frustration but they are much short lived and I am able to control myself better now.

11 thoughts on “A remarkable change in life from chanting

  1. Where ever you are, you are a fellow member…i’ll surely send you daimoku for more victories & peace in your life.

    Take care & do let of joyous daimoku.

  2. Congratulations and welcome to the wonderful world of SGI!! The 3 pillars of this philosophy are: faith, practise and study…pls get in touch with member(s) to get introduced and experience lots of more such positive changes…

  3. Dear Friend
    Welcome to this wonderful practice. There’s no looking back now, as this is THE ultimate path to happiness. Please be in touch to get introduced & start experience victorious further.

    Take Care.

  4. Dearest SGI members

    Thank you for your support.

    I am still to have many break throughs. I have never been a bad person however itentionally & unitentionally i have been bad via my actions, words & thoughts.

    I know i have sinned & all i wish now is to expediate this negative karma with heart oozing with peace & happiness for self first & all around me.

    Pain & agony flows in my blood & this practice is making me free of it.

    The Saumya who used to die every second is now living every second.

    LOVE YOU ALL

  5. Dear Girl, welcome to the SGI family. Very happy to learn of your short yet experiencing journey in faith. It is truly mystical of how you have encountered this faith.

    Faith in Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism is all about building a solid foundation for life and collecting immense good fortune and benifits.

    However, it is important that our faith in Nam Myoho Renge Kyo should get stronger by the day so that we are more than ever prepared to overcome all the challanges in life with a big smile on our face.
    Faith, practice and Study are three essential pillars and SGI as an organisation will be the family that will be around you to help you strenthen these three pillars.
    I am from Delhi, it would be my greatest good fortune to connect you to fellow members in case you have not already contacted them, just drop a word here.
    Best

  6. my dear comrade in faith,
    i would like to thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience with all of us. i wish you will get in touch with fellow members to start a journey of kosen rufu alongside sensei ikeda……….

    with all the best wishes

  7. There is no path that cannot be opened with having faith in the mystic law….. Chant abudant daimoku and exert yourself wholeheartedly in gakkai activities without begruding your life. you will see your life expanding more and you will accumulate more good fortune….. It is like exchanging rocks for gold….. It is the power of faith and practice which will help us tap the infinite power of the buddha and the law….. It is up to us how we tap it as we ourselves are the entities of NMHRK, we ourselves are the Gohonzon and can change any poison into medicine…

    Take Care and don’t look back….

    On 14th August 1947 Ikeda Sensei met Mr. Toda for the first time. Ten days later he took up faith and never looked back…

    Sonam

  8. And we can see actual proof of Ikeda Sensei as doctors said he will not live till the age of 30 as he had tuberculosis. But see how many things he has achieved. He has not only prolonged his life span with the power of the law. He has also made his mentor’s vision a reality of achieving worldwide kosen rufu. Now this organisation is in 192 countries and territories. He has also received so many awards and every year he gives a peace proposal to the president of U.S. Spoken to so many peace activist and has written so many books and is still writing….

    Sonam

  9. Dear comrade in faith, all the negativities in your life is due to the workings of the devil king of the sixth heaven. When deluded, one is a common mortal. When enlightened, one is a Buddha. Chant lots of daimoku consistently to have the widom to be able to triumph over the devil king. Actually, like you, last time I used to harbour doubts of killing my father as he was physically abusive towards my mother. And my mother used to cane me whenever my brother did something wrong & it was not even my fault! As a result, I grew to hate my mother very much too & also harboured doubts of killing her… Thank goodness I did not carry any of that out or I will be in jail for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

