Fight Negative Karma with Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo

Deepika, a 33-year old YWD (Young Women Division) from India, has been practicing Nichiren Buddhism for one and a half years. Through her steadfast practice and chanting daimoku – Nam-myoho-renge-kyo – to get rid of her negative relationship karma, not only is she seeing positive results in improving relationship with two of her family members, Deepika has also overcome depression caused by a personal relationship failure. Encouraged by a guidance from President Ikeda, she has set herself a daimoku target to achieve.

I would like to share my experience I had since I began my practice, which have lead to very significant transformation in my life.

My very old and very dear friend introduced me to this wonderful practice. She often talks about Nichiren Buddhism but I just listen to her but never tried.

I was having bad relationship karma and she knew everything about me. But my problem is that I am a very practical girl and does not believe in things just because others are saying it to me.

I believe what I do and I do what I believe. I believe only that you can know things best when you dig deep into it.

Being a responsible girl, I was supposed to handle not only my problems but take care of them as well.

As they are growing older, my parents need extra care. There is a huge age gap of 40 years between my parents and I. As I told you earlier about my bad relationship karma, I am having two male members in my house – my father and brother – one who never drink but never respected the female members in house while the other drinks daily and never thought of respecting female members in house.

My brother stopped talking to me in December 2009 while my father always showed disrespect my mother in front of us.

With these circumstances I was determined to buy a small house for me to invest the money I earn. I joined a new office with good pay hike.

A month later, my boyfriend, who had been talking about marriage since two years, ago left me.  This is despite having made marriage agreement with my parents.  As a result, this relationship failure caused me to fall into a depression.

I started crying day and night, thinking of my relationship karma. I was not able to concentrate in my office and was not able to control myself at home. My mother, who is very close to me started to worry about me. I was fighting my depression, trying to overcome it.

At that time, I did not realize that I actually have a key to unlock and solve all my problems.  This key is Nichiren Daishonin Buddhism.

One day, my dear friend called me and asked about me. I talked to her very normally and let her know about my situation.

However, she could sense that I was not fine as she was able to hear the heavy sound from my heart.  I denied that I was having problems and told her to call back in the evening.

Even though my friend was correct, I was thinking not to tell her my depression. But I couldn’t control my tears and was not able to stop myself from crying over the phone.

Then she reminded me about the practice I have joined. But still, I was not convinced to chant for my happiness.

One day, I was in my room thinking about my new house and who could support me in buying it.

The answer was from three sources.  The first two were my mother and brother-in-law.  However, my father and brother were strongly against this and created many unpleasant scenes at home.  My brother began to drink even more than before.

The third but most important source is Gohonzon.

You may wonder how this is the case as I had not been practicing Nichiren Buddhism and was not chanting any daimoku.

What happened was on the day I finished all the necessary administrative formalities for the house, I came across a small piece of folded paper, which was kept in my purse for around a year.

One page contained some selling prices of houses.  When I turned over to the other page, I saw a few lines of a Gosho written on it.  In fact, this piece of paper was given to me when I attended a discussion meeting for the first time at my friend’s house.

At that moment, I sensed that I am somehow connected with this faith and should dwell deeper into it.

I was one who tends to take a long time to make a decision and usually waiver, just like a pendulum. It took me 10 months to start chanting.

I took up faith in Nichiren Buddhism because of my sister-in-law. She knows about this faith and was ready to start practicing.  She would feel better if another member of the family were to join her and so, we joined in April 2009 and became active members in February 2010.

Ikeda sensei said, “Being members of same family implies a deep karmic relationship. It is no doubt because of karmic forces they become my parents and I their child and with regard to marriage it is not a matter of this life alone.”

These lines deeply touch my heart and I have also started chanting for my kosen-rufu partner.

An Ikeda sensei’s guidance said, “Not the strategy. Only daimoku does it. When you are convinced of that this very moment is the opportunity to change your state of life.”

These lines moved me tremendously and I set a goal to complete one million daimoku.

I am happy to announce that, since 15 May 2010, I have completed 460,000 daimoku (as of 24 October 2010).

Chanting daimoku everyday has helped to improve my relationship with my father and brother daily.  My father is showing more respect for my mother while my brother has started talking to me since two months ago.

Also, with the financial help from my mother and brother-in-law, I bought the house rent it out.  The monthly rentals collected have given me strong financial support.  As a matter of fact, my finances are so strong that I am always ready to help those with financial karma.

100 thoughts on “Fight Negative Karma with Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo

    • I can see the wonderful changes in my life as i m reaching only the half of one million daimoku…. i can’t imagine my life after one million daimoku…. Thanks really thanks for all your encouragement.

  1. Thnx for sharing your experience.It will take you very far. you have sown the seeds of Kosen – rufu and good fortune will surely be attracted towards you.Thnx and please keep chanting.

    • I love reading experiences on the net and it gave me lots and lots of encouragement to me. This time i was extremely happy to share my experience. Thanx a lot for all your encouragement.

  2. Hi,

    I am interested in this practice. I do chanting for half an hour daily in a silent closed room in front of a wall.

    I have many problems to be sorted.
    I chant for all of them to be straightened out without chanting for one specific purpose. Is it ok. Could you pls guide.

    Thanks and Regards

    • hi, you can pray to have the Buddha’s wisdom and life-force to enable you to overcome the problems you are facing. since you don’t have Gohonzon, please face the east direction when chanting daimoku.

      you can also go to this blog – http://dailyguidance.blogspot.com/ – where you can read Ikeda sensei’s guidance which will help to guide you.

      which city/country are you in? there are currently SGI members in 192 countries and territories around the world.

      you can go to this link – http://www.sgi.org/about-us/directory/asia.html – to get the address and contact details of the SGI centre in your city/country and the members will be on hand to talk to you.

  3. Your experience is very encouraging. I am struggling on and off with this. One question if someone could answer – Can we chant while walking or cooking etc..? Or only sitting in front of Gohonzon only counts?
    Thanks

    • Hi Ruby,

      I can tell you from nearly 40 years of experience with this practice that ALL chanting counts. Buddhism is, after all, cause and effect. For example, chanting works before you receive your Gohonzon. What matters is your sincerity while your are chanting. Chanting if front of the Gohonzon enables us to be more focused, and more in control of our own mind. To offer a single mindedly pray with a minimum of distraction.
      The bottom line is that the law of cause and effect is absolute and everything matters in buddhism.

      I hope this helps and keep chanting, whenever you can.

      Ron

  4. Dear Ruby,

    Never a single diamoku chanted goes wasted. Daisaku Ikeda in New Human Revolution always expressed that he was chanted while travelling. But as we look on mirror every day to know how one is looking likewise Gohonzon is our mirror, in fornt of Gohonzon through chanting we will manifest Buddha Wisdom. Therefore, only sitting in fornt of Gohonzon, diamoku counts.

    Thanks

    Darshana

  5. Hi Ruby,

    You can chant anytime if you want. According to the great sensei one should give one’s 100% what one is doing whether it may be a small or big work. You can not do two things in 100% at a time. So please have some special time for chanting but you can chant during walking, cokking etc.

    Thanks
    Ranjit

  6. Hi Ruby,

    I am very happy that you have courage to ask question and u r clearing your doubts.

    Sensei said one beautiful line which is best match on your question “THERE is no doubt that one who lives with strong faith and a constant seeking spirit will definitely enjoy a life of total fulfilment.”

    I am very happy that u have a seeking spirit. Keep on asking questions until all your doubts don’t get clear.

    Very beautiful line from sensei’s guidance is “A person with faith is young, while one filled with doubt is old”. So clear all your doubts and keep it up. :-)

  7. Hi Ruby,

    I absolutely agree with Darshna that each daimoku is important. I too chant as much as I can even in my mind at times and based on how critical the situation is but effective chanting is what is in front of the Gohonzon. You would never want to neglect or replace the Effective chanting with casual chanting. Chanting in front of the Gohonzon will actually determine how much the casual chanting is important or not or whther it is changing anything in your life. Sometimes situation is such that even one chant from life just does the wonder within your busy schedule in the office or anywhere… So don’t give up any… And Never neglect or replace chanting in front of teh gohonzon with anything else….Chant as much daimoku as you can.

  8. Dear Ruby,
    once when i used to have doubts about how i should chant, when and where same as you.
    many leaders same as you have received replies have given all such answers which are apt and absolutely true.

    but i was personally satisfied when i understood the `power of prayer’ a senior leader guided me on this. prayers are answered when we are able to manifest the buddhahood within us as stated in the Gosho three kinds of treasure.

    when we chant abundant daimoku we are able to attain a life condition of buddha and when this buddhahood is manifested within our hearts the results are seen in our enviornment. so please continue chanting. faith, practice and study will enable us to achieve that life condition. thats the fundamentals. persevere in your efforts. understand the power of prayer it can penetrate through anything. you decide whether u feel overwhelmed when u chant let it be anywhere or anyhow..
    u can actually feel the rhythm within u. its an experience to go through in the world of faith. please enjoy it. thus the answer to ur question lies with u to decide. Nichiren Daishonin assures us of protection all that is required from us is faith in the power of Nam Myoho renge kyo.
    ramya

  9. People say that chanting in front of the Gohonzon counts. What if I do not have a Gohonzon? Does my chanting becomes casual chanting and do not count? I think it is the faith with which you chant that matters.

  10. Dear all disciples,

    Thank you so much for all above discussions and sharing !
    What my viewpoints on the importance of chanting is most depended on your strong determination , believe and positve prayers without no doubt. Believe all your prayers will be realized soon.

    Appreciate all knowledges and view points are exchanged that’s very constructive.

    Wish you all the best and good luck as remain.

  11. The world is a sea of sufferings; I’ve been chanting for year and a half now; but my sadness, depression do not leave me, pl guide. I will never stop chanting as i have 100% faith.

    • Hi Ritu,

      By not giving up on your daimoku is the right way.

      Whenever we have a problem, we must let the Gohonzon knows & chant to have the wisdom, fortune & guidance to enable us to overcome it & achieve victory.

      When chanting, if you have the Gohonzon at home or at the gaikan, focus on the “Myo” character, chant sincerely & open your heart to the Gohonzon.

      Set your prayer & a target (e.g. you must overcome the problem by the time you complete 200 hours – or whatever no. of hours you set), chat consistently (your daimoku must have the rhythm of a galloping horse – to do this, you can try to complete 1 daimoku every second, i.e. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo in 1 second) and chant with determination that you will win.

      Remember that, if you still do not see the result, it could mean that you need to complete more hours of daimoku. For example, if a person wants to buy a house which costs $100,000, he will not be able to buy it if he only has $90,000.

      So, your problem may require 300 hours of daimoku but you have only done 200 hours & still need another 100 hours.

      Our faith is not about practising alone. You also need to seek guidance from your leaders, attend gakkai activities & meetings (e.g. the monthly discussion meeting, etc.), do your part in kosen-rufu & read the Gosho & President Ikeda’s guidance.

      If you practice correctly, you will be able to overcome all your problems and emerge victorious.

      Start by chanting your daimoku with determination & like the rhythm of a galloping horse.

      Hope the above helps.

      Have faith in the Gohonzon.

  12. Hi,

    I am practising Nichiren daishonin Buddhism since last two and a half years. I completely agree with that this is the most wonderful treasure that I have received with the help of my friend. thanks to all my buddhist friends who supported me in my adverse situations. But right now I am undergoing with a problem of relationship between my parents and sister in law.. Can anyone please guide me how should I chant for their wisdom and high life condition

    Thanks

    Neha

  13. Can anyone plz help me..plz i need a guidance..m facing lots of problems in my life..wth family..relationships..myself..i really wnt to practice Daimoku..I dnt knw hw to start it..i hve read many articles related to chanting NAM MYOHO RENGE KYO..bt den also i need a guidance n support of smeone who is dng it n changed der life..i need ur help..ur story had inspired me a lot deepika..my problem is..my dad is abusing me n my mom frm last 26years..frm chilhood i hve seen dem abusing eachother..nw d same thng is gng wth me..i m divorce & living at my parents hme..m nt financially independent..m still studying..i wnt to complete my graduation..wnt to be financially independent..wnt to marry my Love..wnt all that happiness which i deserve..i knw whatever m facing right nw is all my bad relationship Karmas..i hve read many stories on dis blog n dis gave me one hope tht i can change my life positively n find my inner peace n happyness..M frm India living in Ahmedabad city in Gujarat..i had tried to find out any SGI centre in my city..bt hopelessely didnt found it..plz help me if anyone knw any information abt centers in Ahmedabad..

    • Dearest Avani, I faced problems simliar to yours and overcame them through chanting Nam Myoho Renge Kyo. Please know you can change ANYTHING through your chanting. You can chant to meet members in your area, take action to do so (Google?), and you will. Determination, prayer, action. In the meantime, it’s great that you have found this blog. Please read President Ikeda’s guidance every day. He would applaud your efforts to practice Buddhism in such difficult circumstances. Another blog that has really encouraged me is this one: http://chantforhappiness.blogspot.com/
      Good luck, big hug and NEVER GIVE UP!

    • Avani,

      Here is the contact info of person who can help you connect in your city –
      Mr. V. Raju
      Cell # 9811583369

      He is the office person who sits at the BSG main office in New Delhi Kaikan. You can either call him directly or/and call the BSG Kaikan
      # 011 26251016

      Please ak him about district/leaders/members closest to you.

      Best,
      Neha

  14. Hi Avani, to begin chanting Daimoku (Nam Myoho Renge Kyo), first of all you have to believe in it. Never question this Mystic Law. With profound faith, you”ll be able to change your bad karma into fortune. Constantly chant Daimoku with profound faith. U might not get what you want immediately, but you will see that your life will start to manifest into good direction when you begin chanting. As you chant, think of what you want. As long as it brings about happiness in you life, you can chant for it. Remember, you must have faith in Gohonzon as you chant. Chanting alone is not enough, you have to take the necessary actions too. Have faith, and as you chant, I believe that you will find the happiness you desire. We chant to find happiness. And we must have faith in Gohonzon.

  15. Hi Avani, I found the following SGI contact in New Delhi. Get in contact with them and they will certainly be able to give you more info and help:

    Bharat Soka Gakkai

    bsg@bharatsokagakkai.org

    BSG Cultural Centre
    C – 46, South Extension Part – 2,
    New Delhi – 110 049
    India.

    BSG International Peace Centre
    J 21, Hauz Khas Enclave,
    New Delhi – 110 016
    India.

    Please remember this:

    “The mighty warrior General Li Kuang, whose mother had been devoured by a tiger, shot an arrow at the stone he believed was the tiger. The arrow penetrated the stone all the way up to its feathers. But once he realized it was only a stone, he was unable to pierce it again. Later he came to be known as General Stone Tiger. This story applies to you. Though enemies lurk in wait for you, your resolute faith in the Lotus Sutra has forestalled great dangers before they could begin. Realizing this, you must strengthen your faith more than ever.”

  16. Hi,
    I am Jayant, I want to know if there any books or Content on How to become a Capable youth divsion member….or Guidance as well from Sensie Ikeda
    I am really looking forward to such content.
    please reply if u have any content on it…by sensie Ikeda.

  17. Hi Avni….

    I just came accross your mail, I am from Ahmedabad and practising this philosophy. My Email Id is padma.parmar@gmail.com please get in touch with and share you contact details so that I can connect you with the respective leaders in Ahmedabad.

    Awaiting for your mail,

    Padma Parmar
    WD Block Chief

  18. I really enjoyed reading it and I cried little too ..to know in life we have such problems and half your life goes on fighting and later age you give up..but after reading your blog it gives me reason to pray , chant and see .. chanting gives hope I would love to do it..
    Thank you.
    Ragini

  19. I am Practicing BSG member in Jamshedpur. My freind Laxmi, a WD member recently shifted to Madhavpur, Hydrabad. Could you please help me to get members phone number or address over there, so that she attend meetings.

    Regards

    Darshana

  20. hello I am Ishani Chatterjee from kolkata, i am inspired a lot by reading deepika madam’s post. I am also facing lots of problems now a days, i am suffering immensely. I also want to join BSG, Kolkata, can any one give the address of kolkata plz? it will help me a lot and i will be ever grateful.

    • hello ishani.

      this is tamal,. from tivoli court dist.(earlier queens park).i saw your nov30th post just now.in case you have not yet connected please let me know and i will put you in touch with wd(ie womens division),or ywd,(young womens division)member.

      you just do not worry.have Faith and you will overcome.

      • hello Sandipan,

        its Tamal da.i tried your mail.not going.is it correct.why don’t you please check and send me your id again.

        wish you all the best. tamal, tivoli court dist.

        Nam-MyoHo-Renge-Kyo

  21. Hi,

    I have just read about lotus sutra. Could someone help me in trying to understand how to practice the nicherin bhuddhism. I shall be very thankful.

  22. Below are some wonderful lines by Nichiren Diashonin:

    “As I have been saying for some time, in your situation as a lay believer, you should just single-mindedly chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo morning and evening, day and night, and observe what happens at the last moments of your life. At that time, hasten to the summit of perfect enlightenment, and look around you in all directions. The entire realm of phenomena will have changed into the Land of Tranquil Light, with the ground made of lapis lazuli, the eight paths1 marked off by golden ropes, the four kinds of flowers2 raining down from the heavens, music resounding in the air, and Buddhas and bodhisattvas all being caressed by breezes of eternity, happiness, true self, and purity. We, too, will surely be among their number. The Lotus Sutra is indeed such a splendid sutra!”

    “Suffer what there is to suffer, enjoy what there is to enjoy. Regard both suffering and joy as facts of life, and continue chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. no matter what happens. How could this be anything other than the boundless joy of the Law?”

    “When deluded, one is called an ordinary being, but when enlightened, one is called a Buddha. This is similar to a tarnished mirror that will shine like a jewel when polished. A mind now clouded by the illusions of the innate darkness of life is like a tarnished mirror, but when polished. it is sure to become like a clear mirror, reflecting the essential nature of phenomena and the true aspect of reality. Arouse deep faith, and diligently polish your mirror day and night. How should you polish it? Only by chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.”

    “How many are the places where I have thrown away my life in past existences for the sake of my wife and children, lands and followers! I have given up my life on the mountains and the seas, on the rivers, on the seashore, and by the roadside. Never once, however, did I die for the Lotus Sutra or suffer persecution for the daimoku. Hence none of the ends I met enabled me to attain Buddhahood. Because I did not attain Buddhahood, the seas and rivers where I threw away my life are not Buddha lands.”

    “Exert yourself in the two ways of practice and study. Without practice and study, there can be no Buddhism. You must not only persevere yourself; you must also teach others. Both practice and study arise from faith. Teach others to the best of your ability, even if it is only a single sentence or phrase. Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.”

    “THERE is no true happiness for human beings other than chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.”

    Taken from http://www.sgilibrary.org

  23. “If Nichiren’s compassion is truly great and encompassing, Nam-myoho-renge-kyo will spread for ten thousand years and more, for all eternity, for it has the beneficial power to open the blind eyes of every living being in the country of Japan, and it blocks off the road that leads to the hell of incessant suffering. Its benefit surpasses that of Dengyo and T’ien-t’ai, and is superior to that of Nagarjuna and Mahakashyapa.
    A hundred years of practice in the Land of Perfect Bliss cannot compare to the benefit gained from one day’s practice in the impure world. Two thousand years of propagating Buddhism during the Former and Middle Days of the Law are inferior to an hour of propagation in the Latter Day of the Law. This is in no way because of Nichiren’s wisdom, but simply because the time makes it so. In spring the blossoms open, in autumn the fruit appears. Summer is hot, winter is cold. The season makes it so, does it not?” – Nichiren Diashonin

    Taken from http://www.sgilibrary.org

  24. “In the light of the above points, this shows, my followers, that you had better cut short your sleep by night and curtail your leisure by day, and ponder this! You must not spend your lives in vain and regret it for ten thousand years to come.” – Nichiren Diashonin

    Taken from http://www.sgilibrary.org

  25. Hi ,

    This is Punwant this side . My sister once told me to chant and my worries would go away . Please let me know how to follow . I need to understand this . A lot of people around me who i called Frieds have really hurted me and i have no friends now . I want to be happy and i Have really achieved a lot of failures in my life . Please help me . I am in Bangalore and i really want something good to happen .

  26. Punwant first strategy is chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo as much as you can in daily basis gradually you will realize how wonderful chanting is don’t think here and there only chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

  27. Hello Anup ,

    Thanx for thr response Brother . I am chanting it on a Daily basis now . Can I chant this while I am at work also looking at My Computer .

  28. Dear Punwant,

    I would like to add about chanting. Chant for as long as you feel like chanting. Nichiren Daishonin’s only instruction to his disciples (us) was “Chant to your heart’s content”.

    I have a little experience about chanting. One night I couldn’t sleep. I wanted to utilise my night by chanting but my family members were sleeping. I chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo whole night but silently.

  29. Dear punwant please read below and you will definitely find your answer. Below letter taken from http://www.sgilibrary.org

    THIS is in regard to the passage “This sutra is hard to uphold.”1 According to Acharya Ben,2 you said to him: “I have been practicing the Lotus Sutra correctly since last year, when you told me that those who embrace this sutra will ‘enjoy peace and security in their present existence and good circumstances in future existences.’3 Instead, however, great hardships have showered down on me like rain.” Is this true, or did he give me a false report? In either case, I will take advantage of this opportunity to resolve any doubts you may have.

    A passage from the Lotus Sutra reads that it is “the most difficult to believe and the most difficult to understand.”4 Many hear about and accept this sutra, but when great obstacles arise, just as they were told would happen, few remember it and bear it firmly in mind. To accept is easy; to continue is difficult. But Buddhahood lies in continuing faith. Those who uphold this sutra should be prepared to meet difficulties. It is certain, however, that they will “quickly attain the unsurpassed Buddha way.”5 To “continue” means to cherish Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, the most important principle for all the Buddhas of the three existences. The
    sutra reads, “We will protect and uphold what the Buddha has entrusted to us.”6 The Great Teacher T’ien-t’ai stated, “One accepts because of one’s power of faith and continues because of one’s power of constant thought.”7 Another part of the sutra reads, “This sutra is hard to uphold; if one can uphold it even for a short while I will surely rejoice and so will the other Buddhas.”8

    A fire burns higher when logs are added, and a strong wind makes a kalakula grow larger. The pine tree lives for ten thousand years, and therefore its boughs become bent and twisted. The votary of the Lotus Sutra is like the fire and the kalakula, while his persecutions are like the logs and the wind. The votary of the Lotus Sutra is the Thus Come One whose life span is immeasurable; no wonder his practice is hindered, just as the pine tree’s branches are bent or broken. From now on, always remember the words “This sutra is hard to uphold.”

    With my deep respect,
    Nichiren

    The sixth day of the third month in the twelfth year of Bun’ei (1275), cyclical sign kinoto-i

    To Shijo Kingo

  30. Punwant,

    Please read below lines of letter written by Nichiren Diashonin and experience:

    “Be diligent in developing your faith until the last moment of your life. Otherwise you will have regrets. For example, the journey from Kamakura to Kyoto takes twelve days. If you travel for eleven but stop with one day remaining, how can you admire the moon over the capital? ” Letter to Niike

    Steve Mortan, USA

    My father passed away just before I graduated from high school. In addition to reeling from this loss, my mother, my sister and I faced immediate and severe financial hardship. When we came home at night, we would often have several phone messages from bill collectors threatening to take us to court. At other times, our electricity was turned off. For five years, we lived this way.

    I will never forget my mother’s determination during those times. I can still recall the sound of her chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo with deep conviction that we would overcome every difficulty.

    This was the greatest gift a mother could give to her child. She demonstrated the power of faith in the midst of seemingly insurmountable odds, and her example engraved something powerful and deep within my life.

    For me, the biggest battle was to maintain hope. I had to constantly redetermine not to give up faith–not to be swayed by our circumstances, even though the situation remained the same on the surface. This passage from Nichiren Daishonin was a source of courage for me.

    After five years of making consistent effort to practice and share Nichiren Buddhism, our situation drastically changed. My mother acquired a mom-and-pop store in our neighborhood. My sister, who was on the verge of quitting her job, was suddenly placed on the fast track into management. I graduated from college and became a high school teacher.

    This five-year struggle helped me solidify my faith and become someone who never gives up. I now feel, in my heart, that this was the best thing that ever happened to me. I also learned the importance of deriving joy amid the journey. From this experience, I now have deep confidence that as long as I persevere, the moon awaits.

    [Courtesy of World Tribune, SGI-USA, November 2007]

  31. Punwant,

    Please read below lines of letter written by Nichiren Diashonin and one more experience:

    “Nevertheless, even though you chant and believe in Myoho-renge-kyo, if you think the Law is outside yourself, you are embracing not the Mystic Law but an inferior teaching.”
    On Attaining Buddhahood in This Lifetime

    Carlos Vigoa, USA

    Last year, my financial struggles seemed so endless that I began to view them as this huge wall, one that seemed bigger than my capacity to scale it. I was unemployed at the time, and while I was chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo and taking action, my attitude was to wait for someone (or something) to rescue me.

    I increased the amount I chanted each day, yet I started to doubt the power of the Gohonzon when I didn’t see immediate results. It was through studying this passage from Nichiren’s writings over and over again that I realized I could no longer sit and wait for the Gohonzon to answer my prayers.

    I realized that I had to take full responsibility for my problems and my victories. I realized that any change in my environment would begin with a revolution in my own heart.

    I started to chant with a renewed determination to win over my problems.

    SGI President Ikeda writes: “When you wage a struggle, you might win or you might lose. But regardless of the short-term outcome, the very fact of your continuing to struggle is proof of your victory as a human being. A strong spirit, strong faith and strong prayer–developing these is victory and the world of Buddhahood” (For Today and Tomorrow, p. 50).

    Last year, I was able to deepen my faith and clearly see the result of a determined prayer. I was hired for two jobs! At the first job, my employers said they wished they had found me earlier. The second is part-time, but I get full-time wages.

    Furthermore, my inner revolution brought about a change in my relationships with my mother, family and others. In the end, this was, by far, my greatest benefit.

    [Courtesy of World Tribune, SGI-USA, March 2008]

  32. Hello Anup ,

    Thank you Bro for guiding me. I am trying . Dont know where this would lead to . But I see the Negative arising in me more than a Positive Side . What to do Bro?

  33. Hi !

    I had been facing a lots of problem lately.I just started chanting about 2 weeks ago after heard about it from my friends.I have some questions.Do you say all your problems before you chant? I something like chant 1 million times thing.What is that?
    Hope something can help me.

    Thanks

    Mary Ann

  34. Dear Mary Ann
    You do not need to repeat all your problems before you chant. Infact dont focus on the problem but on overcoming and achieving your desired result. Someone guided me to chant with gratitude as if you have already achieved what you desired. If you like you can make a list of things you want to achive-have concise goals, and then chant to your hearts desire.
    You can choose to chant as much as you want. Some people choose to set a target to complete 1 million daimoku which will of course be over a period of time. It is a huge target but as you accomplish this, you will see how your life changes.
    Enjoy chanting.

  35. Dear Deepika,
    This is not the end, set new targets and offer new prayers to gohonzon to achieve for u…but don’t forget to pay gratitude to gohonzon for any small thing u achieve. keep chanting and pray for ur happiness as well as for others around u..
    Rani mazumdar
    BSG Lucknow

  36. Dear Members,

    Thank you for inspiring so many of us… I am from India but got my Gohonzon in London in 2010. I wanted to get into Management Consulting after chanting almost 3hrs 20 mins every day for a month I managed a 6 months project In Riyadh. Currently, I am in Riyadh and I have not been able to connect with members here. I connected with SGI Gulf but they are not aware of any members too. Would any one of you know members here? I know the practice is not open here but some one might have personal contacts.
    Meanwhile, I am also having relationship problem and I really want to overcome the same and find my Kosen-rufu partner. It would be great if some one could share guidance on that please as I don’t want my work to get affected and here I am not connected with members to take guidance from.

    Thank you and Best regards,
    Divya

    • Hi Christina,

      This is Atonu Choudhurri, a BSG member from Kolkata. Kindly get in touch with Jayati Mukherjee-9830652101. You can take my name also while talking to her. Cheers,
      Atonu
      09836778356

  37. Hi,
    Thats a real motivating experience. I am also going through some emotional bouts within. Reading this has given me encouragement to start one million Daimoku for me. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    • i have major relationship karma. i wanted to know what is the correct way to chant for overcoming it. also, how what is the length of chanting if i want to set myself a target of 1 million daimoku? Priyanka, i am in Kolkata too. can we connect?

  38. Guys,
    I am suffering from some disease & despite of taking continue treatment i couldn’t be able get relief from it. One of my friend told me about this buddhism practice. I have just started chanting NAM MYOHO RENGE KYO in front of an empty wall for 1hour daily. I dont know much about this practice.
    Plz help me to get the right way of chanting & what actually i should think and pray while chanting to get out of this problem?
    Thanks

  39. Dear Akansha,

    Nam myoho renge kyo is like roar of lion .This is mytic law and faith is only prerequisite for it to work for you.Have 100% faith and dedicate your self to law and chant with conviction that you will be blissfully healthy and will share your victory of overcoming health karma with others and dedicate your life for the happiness of members and you will manifest every thing you desire.

  40. Dear Anuradha,

    Thank you so much for your valuable guidance. It will really help me to overcome from my problems & to get all my heart desires.
    Kindly can you tell me one more thing that while chanting should i continuously repeat my problems in my mind or just have to think once at the beginning only?

  41. hello
    i am neha.i have started chanting for the last one week 5 minutes daily morning and evening.i started as one of my friend was not happy as he wanted success in few competitive exams.so i felt i should chant for his selection so that he can feel that happines.i has given me mental balance as well.i have few quetions please help me to sort out
    1.in the pronunciation of NAM MYOHO RENGE KYO Is K sillent
    2.what should be the exact sitting posture.
    3.can i chant while walking like morning walk also
    4.can i chant for 2-3 people at a time with different desires
    i have not joined any group as i will not be able to join at present i chant alone.your valuable opinions are welcome
    regards

  42. Hi neha.
    So glad to know that u have started chanting even b4 u could join or fully appreciate what buddhism is all about.
    Well, i wish to clear all ur doubts so here it goes:

    1. No. The k is not silent nor is any other alphabet.

    2. Try and sit straight..facing the blank wall. The idea is not to get disracted by seeing objects.

    3.well, you may chant while walking but it would be better if u chant with a clear and focused mind. U should be clear what u really want and concentrate on that part. Try and find some time to chant.

    4. You may chant for anything, or anyone,in any way for that matter.. but make sure that u knw fully well what u are chanting for or how u want the situation to change.

    Meanwhile keep reading sensei’s guidance and chant to connect with the sgi members.

    Please make sure that ur daimoku is rich both in quantity and in quality. Chant for ur friend’s high life confition, happiness and protection.

    Thanks.
    Uttara.

    • Hi. I am back after 1.5 years. Because of this wonderful practice I achieved my targets, though I suffered many pains. The greatest victory is that I saved my marriage and left the city I hate the most.
      Right now in Pune. Looking for Bsg group in Pune.

      • Hi
        u saved ur marraige by chanting.. I need ur help in this respect..my husband not talking to me n has filed for divorce… Pls help. Pls guide

  43. Hi..
    all u guys have unbelievable experiences. i also wanna join it and doing chanting but not regularly . just searched it on net how to do it but not get sufficient info. i dont have any source. i have also some problems in my life . i also want to feel happiness by doing this practice. i feel no happiness from life , very negative thoughts for relationships and having depression. can anyone guide me , if i dont have any Ghonozon or any guideline for this practice . basically i belongs to india so i ‘ve experienced so many sources and communities like meditation etc to get some piece of mind but all failed…so nam myo ho renge kyo is my last hope…

    thanks

  44. Hi..well i have heard a lot about the chanting and one of my friend encouraged me to do. i have started at home not for long duration but do it as and when possible and have felt the strength i want to get more details about it so that i do it in proper way. I hope to get guidance regarding the same.

  45. Hema Sharma

    Hi… I have been chanting for the last eight years. No matter how worst the situation by chanting Nam Myoho Renge Kyo we can change every situatioon to Positive.

  46. I have heard and read about Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo but donot know how to chant daily or otherwise other customs to be followed. Can someone guide me. I am in extreme financial and relationship crisis………….

    • Hi
      May I know about your residing city? If it’s Kolkata, then I can help you by giving numbers of SGI leaders. I am also a practicing member.
      Thanks,
      Atonu Choudhurri,
      09836778356

  47. This is for the members who have recently joined the practice and also for the people who are completely new to this practice. We need to set a goal before we start doing Daimoku (chanting). It is also important to do the Gongyo (both Morning and Evening) every day without fail in order to keep our life in rhythm.
    Till we have the Gohonzon, we need to concentrate at a particular point on the wall and chant looking at the point with eyes open. Self doubts would arise, but remember, this can only be overcome with strong conviction and pure faith on the Law. Gohonzon doesn’t reside outside. It is within you. All life’s potential is within yourself. Let me know please if anyone has questions. I will try my best to help them. :))) Stay Happy Always and Keep Chanting!!

  48. Hi .. I have read a lot about the chanting and its power to help people in their goals. I want to start it and want to know how shall I pronounce the chant ? do I need to say it loudly or I can chant in my heart.
    I am looking for some guidance.Also , is there any group practicing this in Southeast UK?

    Kind Regards,

    PK

  49. Hi Pooja,
    This is a wonderful and amazing practice. I’m practicing from last 7 months. I would say just try it once. In this practice, you have to chant loudly with same pace. You just search SGI(Sokka Gakkai International) in google and then select your own location . you will find SGI organization near to your place. and then just call to organization.

    Thanks.

  50. Hello Pooja,

    Please visit this website http://www.sgi-uk.org/ for all your questions regarding meetings etc. Also you can contact at 01628-773163 for further help. I have been practicing since six years and have been tremendously enjoying chanting and reaping both conspicuous and inconspicuous benefits. As Sanchi explained you need to chant loudly with open eyes and concentrating on a spot. Let me know if you have any further questions.

    Thanks

    • hi priti, you mentioned in your note that one should chant aloud with open eyes and focus on a spot. i have been practicing for a year and a half and sometimes i find it easier to focus with eyes shut. infact my eyes tend to shut automatically. is it wrong to do so?

      is there any specific benefit of chanting with eyes open?

      do write in.

      sree

  51. Actually, i was chanting wrong. Means to say sometimes in a very loud and then very slow. i couldn’t get that benefits which this practice give us. So, once i was chanting and my leader noticed me and stopped me there. She said dont fluctuate your voice and your pace , in this way , your life also will go in the same direction.up and down. then i keep in mind this thing and start with same pace. and now i’m getting more benefits. Even m still learning about this practice ..
    Thanks

  52. I have a question here. when we are saying relationship karma, is it linked to only close n blood relations? can friends be considered in this? Since childhood, friends are an important part of my life. But i never had got that same warmth n response from them. However in recent past i met one person and we became friends. from me it was a strong bond and from my whole heart i was praying for his happiness as he was going through difficult phase in his job and his relationship. After i started chanting for him, he got very good job offer and stable in career. his relationship also sorted out. and i haven’t done anything in expectation to get anything in return. but after all these also i dint see that feelings in him and rather he started talking to me disrespectfully and insulting me very often. As a friend i may forgive everybody but my self esteem is hurt very badly this time.

    Is it my relationship karma? Please help me to understand the deep root of it.

    I am chanting to overcome this.

    Thanks,
    Simi

  53. i feel that when i sometimes chat im faced with a lot of situations and recently i have been having terribe nightmares im chanting alot for them to go but they arent . I have also experienced depression and anxiety and i want to over come some people tell me all this is happening because of chanting

  54. Dear Anna.
    Patience is the key word..u might not get immediate results but since ur chanting ,ur prayers will not go unanswered.ur prayers should be persistent and 100 % faith…write on a paper what u desire nd focus on that while chanting.dont disillusion ur thoughts ,nmhrk has powers to cure everything.

    • Hi sreyasi.. i wud say u first chant nam myoho renge kyo.. nd wen u chant keep in mind wat targets u hv to achieve in ur life.. u cn include in ur prayers dat u wud like to join sgi

    • hello Sreyasi,
      there are many BSG ‘districts’in kolkata.’Districts’ are units where members living within a geographical area can attend meetings within easy reach of their respective residences.,
      North upto Dum-dum area,South and Howrah.depends on where you are.In Nichiren’s Buddhism,We Pray For Self and Others.so it is necessary to connect to members.
      wish you all the best and hope you get connected soon.
      tamal(,tivoli court dist.)
      ps—Sandipan,i finally got your id and mailed you.please get back to me so that i cantry and get you connected.thanks.tamalda.(This for mr Sandipan.who sent me his mail id)

  55. hi i m practising sincerely from last 6 years..i m going through tough phases dese days..As my mother is going through health problem since 1 year..she is very negative and complaining attitude towards her problem.
    Also i am in a relationship with a guy.he is avery nice guy in all aspects..we want to be together forever but due to different caste and other issues.i think my parents wont be ready..my parents are searching a suitable guy for me..but i want to marry that person only..MY parents dont respect me and my job..i m very much disturb due to all..what should i do?? plz guide me..

    • hi shruti,i read ur query..im a member at chandigarh.. just remember wht sensei toda said”with ur unflagging faith enjoy the greatest benefits of the gohonzon as ur desires direct you.no prayers remain unanswered .you can attain any wish”… foster these lines.. work selflessly for the law.. chant abundantly.. if u want we can do allaince diamoku from 10-12 pm whtever time its fine with you.. plz determine to change any thing in your life because winter will always turn to spring.. nam myoho renge kyo:-)

  56. hats off to you u Deepika! continue with ur steadfast faith…..and remember Nichiren Daishonin’s words “Muster your faith and pray to this Gohonzon, then what is there that cannot be achieved.”!

Leave a Reply

